Pergo, Painter’s Tape and a Plan – Letter F

We had lots of FUN this week with the letter F.  Here’s what it looked like on the floor:

Note the cards at the start point and FINISH point.  I really love these gross motor activities because they capitalize on the kinesthetic learning style so many of our special children seem to learn best with.

 

 

 

 

 

 

And, of course, what’s the good of walking the letter F if you’re not doing it in FLIP-FLOPS?

Here I maximized the teachable moment.  These FLOWERS were pulled off of plastic floral arrangements from our local Dollar General (of course, I bought them first.)  I bought two colors, mixed them up, and Noah and Bella sorted them by color:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then we worked on our colors.  I would call out red, and Bella would put a red FLOWER on the F; white, and Noah would put a white FLOWER on the F.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When we were done, I pointed to the flowers one by one, starting with the white FLOWER at the start of the F and called out the colors, “white, red, white red . . .”  This was to reinforce the patterning we’ve been working on.

On the other days we placed flip-flops on the F (with our large family, we were able to completely cover it) and Dollar Store plastic frogs and fish too. 

I’m trying to think out of the box on what else we could be doing with these painter’s tape letters.  Any ideas?

 

5 thoughts on “Pergo, Painter’s Tape and a Plan – Letter F”

  1. Take small cars and drive them on the letter. I saw this idea where each letter looks like a road but this is way cheaper and you can make it any size you want..

    1. Oh yeah, we LOVE that – we drove a bus on the letter for B, a car for C, let’s see, we could do a truck for T, a van for V, an airplane for A?

    1. Yeah, it was the walking the letter that hooked me to this idea. I’ve just built onto it with the extension activities, but the walking is my favorite. It just seems to me that it’s got to be getting some of those neural pathways and patterns established for literacy and writing. And my kiddos LOVE driving on the letters. Thanks for stopping by – LOVE your site! We did gummy bear science this morning – so far so good.

      Blessings,
      Alyson

Leave a comment