This is SOOOO Not Me

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If there were a contest for the Mom Least Likely to Let Her Kids Walk Through Paint and Live to Tell About it, I would definately win.  My mom will back me up on this one.  My wonderful, creative sister is WAYYY more likely to find the magic in moments like these than me.  I’m always thinking three steps down the line, “Do I really have the energy to clean this up?”

Honestly, I don’t know what got into me.  I ran across this idea somewhere, and I just couldn’t resist.  So I rolled out the brown packaging paper, grabbed some wax-coated paper plates and washable tempra paint, and let it roll (pun intended).

It was kind of funny to see the personalities of everyone come out in this.  Andres wanted nothing to do with it – too messy; Bella and Seth  thought it looked like much fun and jumped right in; Noah was cautious until he watched Bella and Seth for a minute or two, and then he got his toes wet (pun intended); Eden stuck with feet painting for, oh, about 10 seconds and then she was doing the splits, down on all fours, smearing paint everywhere including her face, you get the picture; and Leah showed up at the tail end and did a few footprints here and there.  Oh, and let’s not forget Trinity, who took one look at us, shook her head, and went back inside.  By the time we were finished, I don’t think a single footprint was distinguishable due to all the slipping and sliding (tempera paint is extremely slippery).  Of course we had some very messy kids, but even as Andrew was hosing them down, he said, “I think we should do this again sometime.” 

Score!!!

By the way, yes, the two eldest members of the Dunn clan walked the brown carpet, painted feet and all.

And the magic didn’t stop once we ran out of paint.  Once I pulled the Littles from the mess and I had them in the bathtub and joy positively shone in their little brown eyes – a wacky adventure with mom and dad still as fresh in their minds as the paint on their feet.  And one of the Middles commented later in the evening, “We made a memory tonight.” 

May our memories of the magic always be stronger than the memories of our sorrows.

8 thoughts on “This is SOOOO Not Me”

      1. It is a great site with tons of links to check out. I couldn’t believe the domain name was still available, but it was!

        At our house, my dh is in charge of all science experiments because I find even the waters ones such a hassle that I can’t be bothered with them. I’ll read about them all day, but do them? Hah!! 😀

  1. That’s so cool that you went into your uncomfortable zone and made a lasting memory with them. I think that’s a summer adventure though, with kids in bathing suits, preferably old ones that could be thrown away! And old-fashioned bathing caps, too! I would HATE to wash my 7 year olds hair with paint in it. I know it would be partially dry and what a mess to get out of it! If I were 10, maybe 15 years younger, I’d be up for it, but at 49? No way! lol

    If you got archival paper in a large format, one for each kid, you could frame it and it would be awesome!

Leave a Reply

