Eat Cookie – A New Two-Word Phrase

Our journey to help Noah find his voice has been so long.  There are days when I feel the effort has been too taxing, and we still have so far to go, maybe we should just rest, retreat and accept that where we are is where we’re going to be for a while.

After talking about two-word phrases for two years now, Noah is finally starting to say them on his own.  Today it was “eat cookie.”  I know it doesn’t sound like much, but I have fought through good days and bad, good moods and bad, days when it felt downright irresponsible to spend yet another 30 minutes on drills and two-word phrase activities that we’d done 100 times before.  I have fought hard for that two-word phrase.  And yet as hard as I’ve fought for it, there is one person who has fought even harder – Noah.  Stringing sounds together to form words and then stringing words together to make phrases is more difficult for Noah than any of us could imagine.  I don’t know if he fully understands how important it is that he learns to do this; I suspect he just understands that it is really important to Mommy that he learns to do this.  That’s why he endures daily drills and endless repetitions of functional phrases like “open door” and “milk please.”  But when he dives for a box and carefully and thoughtfully says “eat cookies,” it leads me to believe he has caught a glimpse on how important it is for HIM that he moves forward with speech.  Oh how I hope so!

In the meantime, it’s cookies and milk for everyone – on the house!

2 thoughts on “Eat Cookie – A New Two-Word Phrase”

  1. I can’t wait! And it sounds huge to me! Last night, for the first time ever, Cooper looked at a hat in a book and made the ‘H’ sound. I haven’t even put it on my blog yet because to so many people it won’t mean anything. To me, I think the world stopped spinning for a second or two. Enjoy your victory mama!

    1. Thanks SOOOO much!!!! I really needed to hear from someone who understands. I’m way past the point of having a speech end goal in mind for Noah – the only goal we have left it seems is progress, and he is definately meeting that goal. YAY YAY YAY for Cooper!

      Blessings,
      Alyson

Leave a Reply

