A New Option for Adults With Special Needs in Dripping Springs, Texas

I am so jazzed about this program and have been since I first heard of it a few months ago.

http://www.friendshipsforlife.org/

I don’t have all the details, but if you live in the Austin/Wimberley/Dripping Springs area, I highly recommend you check this out.

From the www.friendshipsforlife.org website:  “With support from Friendships for Life, our Friends will participate in a new world where they will continue to learn employment skills, communication skills, how to develop friendships and adult living skills in order to build their greatest degree of independence.’ 

“Our main goal is to help our members of FFL find a path where they are able to serve their community. Each path is different, and each path requires educating not only the person themselves, but also those they come in contact with in order to help them achieve their goals.”

This group of adults with special needs meets four days a week to engage in all kinds of activities, from grocery shopping to going to the movies to serving in the local food bank.  I had heard about them from a mom of one of the participants, and then I ran into them at the grocery store.  And then I heard more about them from another mom.  And then I ran into them at the library.  They are having such a blast!  Their motto?  “I learn, I serve, I dream, I can!”  A great motto for all of us, don’tcha think?

From their website, it looks like Friendships for Life based out of Church of the Springs has big, big plans for Dripping Springs, fostering a community where people from all abilities come together to work, to play, to serve and to support each other.  We won’t be waiting until Noah (7 with Down syndrome) grows up to get involved with this group.  I’m not sure what we’ll be able to do yet, but whatever it is, I can’t wait!

Is this a great time to be parenting a child with special needs in Texas or what?

Leave a Reply

