When Life Hands You a Dip, Throw Your Hands Up and Enjoy the Ride

dip-sign-with-arrow-600x600

Nope, not a post on a spacy child.

Fifteen years ago, I followed a friend of mine out to the Texas Hill Country. I was a single mom wanting to raise my child out in the country; she was a wife and mom of four moving to help take care of aging grandparents. She taught me a lot about family, and she just happened to be the most fun person I had ever met. She had a knack for turning the details of life that we often overlook into experiences that I never forgot. You could often find us with a van full of kids (hers and mine) exploring the back roads of our quaint little village. Every sighting was a story, and every dip was an adventure.

Yes, every dip was an adventure.

Being that we were in the Texas Hill Country, we encountered dips in the road many times. The best ones we would speed up, drive over, and then turn around and do it again.

My children have endured many long drives out to our new house that we continue to prep for move in. Fortunately, there just happens to be a pretty dramatic dip on the way there that has prompted yells of “speed up” on every journey. So I floor the gas pedal to about 70 MPH and we set a’sailing. The kids throw their hands up and milk the experience for all it’s worth. I love that.

“Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow.” – James 1:17

“Rejoice always; pray without ceasing; in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:18

Who needs Six Flags anyway?

What are some ways you turn the ordinary into the extraordinary?

4 thoughts on “When Life Hands You a Dip, Throw Your Hands Up and Enjoy the Ride”

    1. My only coolness occurs when I am imitating someone else, I’m afraid. I would really love to be way more cool than I am. But honestly, I’m just too darn tired.

  1. My kids love to go over ‘speed bumps’ as we call them in Australia. They yell “va-va-VOOM!”
    (I only worry A LITTLE about the suspension.)

Leave a comment