Angels Everywhere

On the heels of my post from yesterday, the kids and I took a little trip to the library.  As we got out of the car, Andres, the subject of yesterday’s post, was informing me of how to go about paying for lunch at Costco if you realize too late you don’t have any cash.  Something about a counter and a ticket . . .

Well I was only half listening, and this man came walking towards the car that was parked next to ours and he overheard Andres and couldn’t help but share with us how mature he thought Andres was considering the subject matter he was talking about.  He asked how old he was and praised him for paying attention to, understanding, and expressing how the world around him worked.  How many adults would stop to consider an overheard conversation between a little boy and his mother?  What a kind soul.  You know, he reminded me an awful lot of my grandfather, and I even think my grandfather would have said something like that.

Such sweet consolation for this mama who can’t help but wonder how Andres will fare in the big bad world with all his uniqueness.

To top it off, this afternoon his occupational therapist called and Andres answered the phone.  She didn’t even recognize his voice because he sounded so grown up and handled himself so well on the phone.

It’s a good thing I don’t lie awake nights worrying about my children’s futures.  With seven kiddos, one for each day of the week, that means I’d never get any sleep.  (I lie awake worrying about other things.)

Jeremiah 29:11 NIV:  “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Leave a Reply

