The Best Hundred Bucks I Ever Spent

Surely you knew there was going to be a follow-up to The-best-$16.00 I ever-spent/.

DSC08867

 

So I went to the local thrift store first thing yesterday morning.  There in the parking lot was this BEAUTIFUL solid wood  country-style table.

Sold already, I was sure of it.  But I asked anyway, just in case.

Nope, it was just unloaded from a truck and nobody had even priced it yet.

One of the workers disappeared inside to get the manager for pricing.  Just so happened to be the nice manager I had just talked to yesterday about saving me some moving boxes.

He came out to look at the table.  I said, “My kids NEED this table!”

He agreed.  $100 bucks just for me.

I thought at the most it would seat 8.  There’s only eight of us at home now, so I figured it would be okay.

I called hubby to tell him he had a table to pick up.

Ooops.  Did I mention it only seats 8 versus the easy 10 our current conference table that we use for a dinner table holds?

And when all the kids are here, we need a table for 11.

So I spent the rest of the day wondering just how bad a mistake I made in informing hubby we were trading in our perfectly-sized conference table for a smaller, albeit nicer (much nicer) table.

First thing I did when I came home was apologized.

Wow.  Wish I would have realized for the past 11 years how much easier things get when I admit I made a mistake.

So I helped unload the table, we set it up, and then I realized, “It sure looks like this table would seat 10.”

Sure enough.   It seats a pretty easy 10.

And hubby LOVES the table (especially now that we know it can seat 10), and hubby very rarely LOVES anything (except me and our kids, of course).

Whew.

All’s well that ends well.

Kinda feels like a housewarming gift  from God.  So it was fitting this morning that since we skipped church due to sick kids, we sat around our new dining room table for family church..  It was a great way to break it in.

James 1: 17  “Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or [r]shifting shadow. 18 In the exercise of His will He brought us forth by the word of truth, so that we would be [s]a kind of first fruits [t]among His creatures.

19 [u]This you know, my beloved brethren. But everyone must be quick to hear, slow to speak and slow to anger; 20 for the anger of man does not achieve the righteousness of God. 21 Therefore, putting aside all filthiness and all [v]that remains of wickedness, in [w]humility receive the word implanted, which is able to save your souls. 22 But prove yourselves doers of the word, and not merely hearers who delude themselves. 23 For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks at his [x]natural face in a mirror; 24 for once he has looked at himself and gone away, [y]he has immediately forgotten what kind of person he was. 25 But one who looks intently at the perfect law, the law of liberty, and abides by it, not having become a forgetful hearer but [z]an effectual doer, this man will be blessed in [aa]what he does.

26 If anyone thinks himself to be religious, and yet does not [ab]bridle his tongue but deceives his own heart, this man’s religion is worthless. 27 Pure and undefiled religion in the sight of our God and Father is this: to visit orphans and widows in their distress, and to keep oneself unstained [ac]by the world.”

What good things has the Lord been bringing your way lately?

5 thoughts on “The Best Hundred Bucks I Ever Spent”

  1. Happy Day! So very happy for you to run across the perfect table, and you have to know you really did get a great price for it! You work so hard, share so much, it was wonderful to see something helpful (and beautiful) come your way. You have helped me help my granddaughter with autism, can never thank you enough for that! Hope you and yours enjoy ever so many good times at the table.

    1. Oh, thank you Lois for the encouragement. It means so very much to me that some of these things are indeed getting passed along to children who might benefit from them.

      Blessings,
      Alyson

Leave a Reply

