To Read or Not to Read, That is the Question

True story.

Last week was letter “P” week around here for the Littles.

Of course any time you talk about the letter P, you must have pizza, right?

So I planned pizza for lunch one day and wrote out two flash cards.  Not that Noah is reading or anything, but I’m kind of clueless how in the world I’m ever going to teach him to read, so for now I’m taking the approach of surrounding him with words.

I had a flashcard for pizza and a flashcard for plate.

I put a plate down and the flashcard down, pointed to the word “plate”, pointed to the plate and said, “plate.”  Then I put my finger under the p in plate and moved it along the word as I said it.

Next I did the same thing with a slice of pizza and the “pizza” flashcard.

Noah watched but was very unimpressed.  It seems he could care less about my flashcards.

So I was pretty convinced he is totally not comprehending that p-i-z-z-a spells pizza or that p-l-a-t-e spells plate.

But at least I could check one more “p” activity off my list.

He ate the first piece of pizza.

Then he signed “more.”

Then he pointed to the “pizza” flashcard I had absent-mindedly left sitting on the table next to him along with the flashcard for the word “plate.”

But he very distinctly pointed to “pizza.”

It’s times like these that make me feel like I’ve got a little con artist on my hands.

One thought on “To Read or Not to Read, That is the Question”

Leave a Reply

