Behavior Modification in Children With Down Syndrome

With a title like that, I know you’re probably expecting a very technical and in-depth post.

Sorry.  Remember who you’re dealing with.

It’s just little old me.

I don’t have the brain cells for technical and in-depth.

But I’ve got experience.

Last week at speech therapy, Noah was a little stinker.  He worked his charm on Marcus and spent a good part of the session covering his eyes, laughing, saying “no” and grabbing and fidgeting.  Seeing how we travel and hour there and an hour back, I was not amused.

I apologized after the session and Marcus brought up the fact that Noah may not be able to help the fidgeting.

Hmmmm.

Sounds like a challenge to me.

So we came home and I immediately went to work teaching Noah how to fold his hands and put them in his lap, and several times since then when he starts fidgeting I have told him to put his hands in his lap and he obeys.

Can’t wait to see how he does for Marcus this week.

Remember this the next time you’re tempted to let your kid slack because of his “special needs.”  Yeah, Noah has special needs, he especially needed his Mama to teach him how to fold his hands and put them in his lap.

So there.

6 thoughts on “Behavior Modification in Children With Down Syndrome”

  1. You’re lucky, in a way. Jp is always this versatile, chatty little angel in therapy so my SLP thinks I’m crazy when I express concerns. I’m like, “I know he’s a darling here but I swear at home it’s a different story!”. Lol 🙂

  2. I like, double like, and even love this! It is so absolutely true that we must not let our children get away with things due to their disability. They are truly capable of so much as long as we, as parents, stay firm and encouraging. I’ve seen teens coming from both situations and the differences can be truly amazing 🙂

    1. You know, if Noah truly is unable to behave appropriately or do what is asked, I will be the first person to acknowledge it and certainly with no apology. In this situation if it was true that Noah could not control his hands, that would be a HUGE disability in terms of learning. I think he’s got enough real disability to contend with without adding any imagined disability to the mix. Glad I’m not the only one picking up on this!

      Blessings,
      Alyson

Leave a Reply

