O is for Octopus

It’s always a challenge to keep Noah motivated during anything that resembles a speech therapy drill.  Now that his speech therapist and I have gotten more comfortable with each other, I’m slowly returning to working with him on his speaking words at home.  I can’t claim this idea as my own, but I am at a loss to remember where I got it from.

DSC08732

You know those little reinforcement stickers for patching torn holes in binder paper?  Well, they just happen to be perfect Os.

For this activity, I printed off a copy of an octopus coloring page that you can find here:  http://childstoryhour.com/coloringanimal.htm.  I never know how much Noah  is picking up as far as the printed word, but unless I have proof he’s not picking up anything, I’ll be writing out words every chance I get.  That’s why I added O and octopus at the bottom of the page.

If you’re just looking for fine motor or occupational therapy practice, help your kiddo peel and stick the stickers onto the page and you’re done.

But if you’re like me and desperately trying to capture every possible opportunity to multitask, use the reinforcement stickers as a reward during drills.  I had Noah go through his Kaufman cards – he had to say the word on a card three times and then he got to use a sticker.  So, we covered phonemic awareness, fine motor skills and speech drills all in one 10-minute activity.  I just LOVE it when that happens!

Leave a Reply

