Mystery Bag – Using Touch to Identify Objects

The idea for a mystery bag activity has been on my mind since Noah (6 – with Down syndrome) played a game similar to Ned’s Head in speech therapy a few months back.  You know how those ideas get planted, you sit, you watch, and you say I could do that!

The concept for this game is you stick your hand into the bag (or stocking) and identify what you are pulling out before you pull it out, or you put your hand into the bag trying to pull out a particular item.

DSC08678

I was planning on using a pillowcase or paper sack, but when I saw this Christmas stocking pin, http://pinterest.com/pin/234961305531199323/ from the original blog post at  http://littlewondersdays.blogspot.com/2010/12/whats-in-stocking.html,I decided I liked the stocking idea way better.

I wanted to use this to practice vocabulary with Noah, so I made up a bunch of PECs to go along with unique items that would fit into the stocking.  I came up with three pages worth, so even if you don’t have everything, you can pick and choose which ones you want to use.  You’ll find the free printable cards in PDF format here:  Mystery Bag.

Thanks to www.mrsriley.com for giving me such an easy way to make these cards.  For www.mrsriley.com members, you can find my fully editable file here:  http://mrsriley.com/app/#fileID=61953.

I just stacked the cards right-side down and let him take one from the top of the pile, insert hand into filled stocking, pull out matching object, wallah.

(By the way, I’m experimenting with auditory bombardment, which is basically reading a list of target words while your child is sitting passively.  In many circles it’s not considered productive, but I’m operating on the assumption that Noah has to hear and identify a word before he can start the motor planning process to say the word, so I want him to have as much exposure to the word as possible.  It’s an easy, fast exercise, and it can’t hurt to try something new, right?)

Anyway, back to the mystery bag.  I read through the cards and show them to Noah before he starts the game and after he finishes the game – my version of auditory bombardment.

Noah had no trouble with this the first time we played.  Granted, I only put items in the bag that were extremely different from each other.  I have to say I was impressed with how readily accessible Noah’s sense of discriminating touch was.  Makes me think sandpaper letters or something along those lines might be a way to help him with his letter recognition.

Hope you had a sweet Valentine’s Day.   Yuk yuk.  Very punny, as my kids would say.

3 thoughts on “Mystery Bag – Using Touch to Identify Objects”

    1. I’m trying sooooo hard to get those brain signals, neuropathways, connections made, any and every way I can. It never ceases to amaze me the way Noah either can’t or won’t learn things I painstakingly try to teach him, but then he goes and aces some brand new activity like this without any trouble. Exhilarating and frustrating all at the same time.

      Thanks for tuning in.

      Blessings,
      Alyson

  1. This specific post, “Mystery Bag – Using Touch to Identify Objects
    | wordsofhisheart” demonstrates the fact that u
    really comprehend exactly what you are speaking about!

    I actually absolutely am in agreement. With thanks
    -Robbie

Leave a Reply

