A Letter From Noah

Dear Mommy,

I saw how sad you were after my assessment last week showed my cognitive impairment level as being severe.

I heard you wondering in  your heart if teaching me my shapes was really so important.  I know after months and months of working with me, you’re still not sure if I’m realizing the difference between circles, squares, rectangles and triangles.  I know you’re thinking our time might be better spent doing things that come easier to me.

Mommy, I just want you to know that I’m picking up more than you know; I just don’t always show it the way people expect me to.

Tonight when nobody was looking I got into Andres’ new geoboard and I made a little something for you.  I hope you like it.

DSC08676

Love,

Noah (6-DS)

P.S.  Mommy, it matters; it all matters.

7 thoughts on “A Letter From Noah”

  1. Love this Alyson. Yes, it all matters. I read your post this past week on Noah’s assessment and meant to comment, but didn’t have the time b/c we’ve been buried with home renovations due to a mild flood we had in December. I too, do not like assessments even though they seem to be a necessary evil. Prayers for you and yours tonight. You are doing an amazing job with your adorable, special little boy.

Leave a Reply

