Even the Sound Waves Obey Him – Science Experiments for Little Christians (and Their Mommies)

http://www.amazon.com/Even-Sound-Waves-Obey-Him/dp/075860985X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1359046990&sr=8-1&keywords=even+the++sound+waves
http://www.amazon.com/Even-Sound-Waves-Obey-Him/dp/075860985X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1359046990&sr=8-1&keywords=even+the++sound+waves

I struggle to find the time and energy in our homeschool to properly address science and history. We recently finished a human body lapbook that was, well, pure torture.

So in an effort to be Fun Mommy (it really does take a LOT of effort), I pulled out a book of science experiments, Even the Sound Waves Obey Him by Nancy B. Kennedy, that illustrate scriptural principles, and we started in on them today.

Don’t you just love it when experiments turn out exactly the way they are supposed to?

The layout of each of the 44 experiments in this book includes a scripture reference and narration, a Biblical principle, a scientific principle, a list of household supplies needed for the experiment, directions, and an explanation of what happened in the experiment and why.  The graphics are high-quality black and white cartoons, and each page is laid out in a way that is pleasing to the eye and easy to read.   Suggested ages on the cover of the book are pre-K to grade 2.  I did this with my 3 middles, ages 11, 9 and 7, and they all enjoyed the experiment.  I could have easily done it with my Littles as well.

The first experiment today involved looking into the concave surface of a metal spoon and comparing it to the convex side. One side reflects your face right-side up, and the other side reflects your face upside down. The scriptural reference is Genesis Chapters 1 and 2: Creation and the Fall.

The script went something like this:

Mommy: “See, when Adam and Eve sinned in the Garden of Eden, they turned their relationship with God upside down. God sent Jesus to save us from our sins and turn us right-side up again.”

Here’s where it gets a little goofy:

Leah: “We really are upside down. Our feet smell and our noses run.” (Courtesy of National Geographic Kids, apparently).

My life is nonstop slapstick (in between the stinky feet and running noses, of course).

5 thoughts on “Even the Sound Waves Obey Him – Science Experiments for Little Christians (and Their Mommies)”

  1. I’m so glad you and your children liked the activities in my book, Alyson! I spend a lot of time making sure my activities work properly…. because, you know, science can be scary for a parent! You might also want to check out my second book in that series, Make It, Shake It, Mix It Up (Concordia, 2007). It’s available on Amazon, and can be ordered through Concordia or your local Christian bookstore. The activities in that book are geared toward older children, but also can be done with younger children under supervision. I have even more science activities on my website (www.nancybkennedy.com). Choose the tab that says “Science Play.” Have fun!

    1. What a thrill to get your comment! Thanks so much for stopping by. I will viist your website and look for your second book – we’ve had SO MUCH fun with your first!

      Blessings,
      Alyson

      1. I loved hearing about your Genesis conversation! Here I am imagining parents and teachers having all these meaningful spiritual conversations while they experiment… but the reality is so much more fun!

        While I’m talking up my books… you might also like my latest one, “Miracles and Moments of Grace: Inspiring Stories from Moms.” In fact, go to the publisher’s website and ask for a complimentary copy, if you’d like to review it on your blog. http://www.acupressbookclub.com/review-a-book/miracles-moments-of-grace-moms-review-a-book OK… no more advertising, I promise!

      2. Love how we’re on the same page. I was thinking along those lines. I will contact the publisher and push the bar by asking also for a copy to give away as part of my review. Thanks so much for sharing your knowledge, talent and faith with the rest of us!

        Blessings,
        Alyson

Leave a Reply

