PROMPT – A New Therapy for Noah

What a difference a week can make!

Last Wednesday we said good-bye to Noah’s speech therapist who was leaving our local clinic.  She has been with us every step of the way over the last two years and has taught me a lot about speech and language and how to help Noah in those areas.

This was an unwelcome push for me to find the next right thing for Noah.  I know he is on the cusp of a language breakthrough and he needed something traditional speech therapy was not addressing.  But I wasn’t ready to make a change.

Guess it’s not all about me.

I knew Noah couldn’t afford to drop speech therapy, so I begrudgingly started searching for another clinic for him.

God had something really good in store for Noah.

His name is Marcus.

Marcus not only uses PROMPT therapy, he’s an instructor, which means he has intensive training and experience with PROMPT therapy.  And he just happens to have a brother with Down syndrome who he adores.

We met Marcus on Tuesday, and he started the evaluation process for Noah.  He thinks Noah will respond very well to PROMPT, and I agree.  His prior speech therapist used some of the tactile cueing that PROMPT teaches, and Noah was extremely responsive.  PROMPT therapy addresses oral motor issues that make speech so difficult.  It’s a deviation from traditional speech therapy and from a lot of what we’ve been doing with Noah.  But I think there’s a time and a place for traditional speech therapy.  We’ve been there, we did it, and I am very excited because I think PROMPT is the next right thing in our journey to give Noah a voice.

So we travel to speech therapy now, an hour each way.  But no time has ever been better spent.

Just what is PROMPT therapy?  Visit http://promptinstitute.com/index.php?page=treatment-expectations for a detailed explanation of what Noah will be doing once a week.

Can’t wait to update you on his progress!

4 thoughts on “PROMPT – A New Therapy for Noah”

  1. So excited for you guys! Isn’t it amazing that when one door closes, another opens at just the right time? God’s timing is always just perfect. Every single thing that I’ve been through with Jake, I have seen and felt His hand in it. PROMPT will be great for Noah! We did it for a few sessions and I think the concept is great. I also think doing something “new” is always good for them. Switching the type of speech therapy that Jake was getting at the end of November has been SO good for him and using hand cues for sounds really make the words click. I love to see that “magic” happen. Best of luck to you guys!

Leave a Reply

