And Just What Else Can I Do With Velcro?

A couple of years ago, I started buying Velcro.  I started buying A LOT of Velcro.  We were starting Noah (6 with Down syndrome) on PECs, and I get very aggravated when I run out of supplies in the middle of one of my material-making sessions.  Did I mention I bought A LOT of Velcro?

Now that I’ve slowed down on PECs, I’m left with A LOT of Velcro.  So, I’ve started thinking about other things I can be doing with some of this Velcro.

Here’s an idea that worked well for us:

DSC08578

Language/vocabulary:  Rectangle, triangle, square, circle, angle, corner, side, turn, press

I know, I know, this just looks like shapes traced in yarn, but if you look closer, you’ll see Velcro dots lining the shapes.  (The square shape is lined with strips of Velcro.)  See, using yarn is very frustrating for some children, with or without special needs.  Just when  you get it to do what you want it to do, it moves.

Did you know yarn sticks to the rough hooks on Velcro?

It does.

This is one of those little baby step modifications that links Noah from not being able to do a common kindergarten skill like outlining things with yarn to success.

I like it.

I like it a lot.

Here are the free printable shapes (circle, rectangle, square and triangle) I used in a PDF file:  Shapes one to a page with word for velcro and yarn.

Just print them out, laminate and then stick Velcro dots over the lines.  I spaced these about 1-1/2 inches apart, but you can do more or less depending on the current abilities of your child.  If your child needs lots of baby steps, try spacing the dots very close together at first and then progressively make them further apart.  Eventually your child will be able to make the shapes without the dots.

5 thoughts on “And Just What Else Can I Do With Velcro?”

  1. I’m sorry but, I had to giggle a little with the title. My dogs name is velcro and the first thing that popped into my head was “take him for a walk of course!”

    The thing I love about velcro is that it comes in those fun/easy shapes for the younger kids. I’ve even done the rectangle, square and triangle shapes out of the velcro and set them on the coinciding shapes to reinforce the shape in the childs mind.

  2. You could make a way to practice spelling words. Make letters with velcro on one side and then as strip that either they can spell their own words or put the picture of a dog and the word dog underneath and then match the letters on the velcro underneath.

    The same thing could be done with words to make a sentence or sequencing pictures. It could be a fun way to display family pictures and switch them out in a play area.

    1. Great ideas! I just got back from Lakeshore Learning. I was tempted to buy SOOOO much, but I refuse. I can make my own – if I can just remember the ideas, and if I have enough Velcro . . . 🙂

Leave a Reply

