Oh, Christmas Tree – An Edible Craft For Little Hands

 

 

Cute, eh?

Forget the messy gingerbread houses when it comes to my little ones.  We’ll save those for the big guys.

For my Littles, this idea I found on Pinterest (http://pinterest.com/pin/234961305530845392/ ) was the perfect answer to “How can we have some Christmas fun without blowing an entire afternoon with cleanup?”  You can find the original blog post here:  http://pigtailsandtutus.blogspot.com/2012/01/december-activities.html.

We mixed a little practical life skills in the kitchen with some fine motor stirring and sticking to come up with a very festive treat.  Since Noah is starting to approximate the word “tree,” (he says “ee”), this was just the kind of language-based activity I was looking for.

Activity:  Sugar Cone Christmas Trees

Supplies:  Sugar (ice cream) Cones, Candy Sprinkles, White Icing, Green Food Coloring

Directions:

  1. Mix icing and green food coloring until you have the desired shade of green icing.
  2. Spread icing to cover the outside of an upside-down sugar cone.
  3. Either roll cone in sprinkles or place sprinkles on cone to represent ornaments.  (You’ll need large sprinkles if you’re going to place them individually.)
  4. Eat or place as decoration.  (These look great as decorations for centerpieces or buffet accents).

I started off this craft with the intention of just the Littles (Noah – 6 with DS, Bella 4, and Seth 2) working, but once the Middles (Leah – 11, Andres – 8 and Eden – 7) caught wind of what we were up to, our table was full of busy hands.  The fun was definitely worth the mess.  I find that keeping the kids busy really helps them enjoy each other.  Idle afternoons seem to take their toll on everyone.

We all had a sumptuous snack at the end of that activity, sans my husband who sat on the sidelines gagging at the thought of eating straight icing and ice cream cones.

He doesn’t know what he’s missing!

7 thoughts on “Oh, Christmas Tree – An Edible Craft For Little Hands”

    1. Thanks, Sweta. And just to update my blog description a little for you, http://www.wordsofhisheart.wordpress.com is written by Andres’ mama and includes not only his journey but also his brother’s journey who is 6 and has Down syndrome. You’ll find lots of preschool activities and free printables, OT ideas, speech therapy ideas, hippotherapy experiences, some PT experiences. We have a lot of fun and share whatever seems useful. Thanks so much for the award!

      Blessings,
      Alyson

      1. Thank You Alyson, I will be reading more of your writings soon. Just don’t get more time due to school . Thank you for the update dear.
        God bless you.
        Sweta

      2. Thanks, Sweta. I always keep my eye out for your posts because I learn so much from them! I’ll be here when you get a chance to catch up. I’m going to have to search your site to see if you have anything on Chiari malformations for Andres.

        Blessings and Merry Christmas.
        Alyson

      3. Hello Alyson, thank you so much for appreciating my work.. I don’t have a topic on Arnold Chiari Malformation, however I can surely write about it in the coming week. Actually I am a guest post writer for American Health Journal so that and my school is keeping me busy as my finals are going on.. So as soon as they get finish by this weekend, I will get my hold on AC malformation. Thank You once again!
        Blessed Holidays to you and your family.
        Sweta

      4. Thanks, Sweta. I’ll keep my eye out for an article on Chiari malformation from you and will link to it on my blog once you have it posted. Thank you so much!!! I’m really interested in a physical therapist’s perspective.

        Blessings,
        Alyson

Leave a Reply

