Thanking God for the Reminder

So my Thanksgiving guests called me at 5:30 this evening to tell me they won’t be coming to stay for Thanksgiving after all.

I went through the usual emotions but thankfully came out the other side.

The Lord brought to mind the years I spent as a single woman before my first daughter was born.  So lonely, such a longing for a family, for children of my own.

Always a guest for Thanksgiving, never a hostess.

Them were dark days.

And then after my daughter was born, the joy of motherhood along with the loneliness and longing of single motherhood.

Still always a guest, never a hostess.

Happy times, but lonely times.

And today?  A family of my own, a house full of children, a husband who loves his family, my family and our family.

My 17-year-old still tells me about her day, still shares her joys and tribulations and still wants to play Scrabble with Mom.  On the other end of the spectrum, my 2-year-old still wraps his little body around my leg and says, “I want you to hold me, Momma.”

I’m happy – and thankful to be on this side of the fence.

The disappointment I’ll feel tomorrow as we spend our day “just us” minus the guests is  a drop out of the bucket of a full life.  If I didn’t have these guys to share my life with, there’s no amount of met expectations and punctual company that could fill my cup.

Truly, my cup runneth over.

Our house won’t be as full as I expected tomorrow, but it will be full enough.

Happy Thanksgiving from Texas, y’all!

Blessings,

Alyson

P.S.  For those of you who are struggling with loneliness and sorrow this holiday season, can I encourage you?  In my darkest days, I cried out to God not understanding why He allowed me to be in so much pain, so alone for so long.  In hindsight I can see that He was preparing me for the difficulties that I walk through now, preparing me to count my blessings even in the midst of disappointments, something I could not do without knowing the depths of human sorrow.   Know that our Heavenly Father meets you where you are at, and He has a plan.  Where you are, you will not stay.  If you are not in a season of thanksgiving, celebrate the moments of thanksgiving that come and go, even if it is as fleeting as a cashier’s kind words at the grocery store.  I pray that those moments will grow longer as each day passes.

2 thoughts on “Thanking God for the Reminder”

Leave a Reply

