A Language all His Own

Noah (6 – Down syndrome) was in his happy place yesterday and started talking up a storm.  Okay, so I couldn’t understand what he was saying, but I’m telling you he was talking.  It went something like this:

duh duh     duh duh duh duh duh duh     duh duh duh!!!     Duh duh duh duh     duh duh duh.    Duh duh?   Duh.

All the inflection was there, all the hand gesturing, facial expression.  But just the same sound over and over again.  Apraxia?

I guess that’s babbling of sorts.

It must be good.

I tried talking back to him in his language, but he knew I had an agenda, so he signed stop, just like he always does when he sees I’m trying to pull speech out of him.

He’s got such a sweet voice.

2 thoughts on “A Language all His Own”

  1. Found your blog on a WP search for DS. Love this because my son (7) has an uphill battle with slow speech. This weekend while stealing my iPad to watch cat in the hat I heard him in his room doing the same thing. I listened for a few moments and when I opened the door to see what was going on, he was singing the theme song in his own way. It’s not that he doesn’t get it, it’s that we don’t. 😉

    1. Totally. The older Noah gets, the more I know what you mean – “it’s not that he doesn’t get it, it’s that we don’t.”
      Doesn’t the struggle make each sound he make so precious? Every syllable, every sound, every note.
      It’s good stuff.
      Welcome aboard! I’ll be following your blog and will give you a shout out one of these days.

      Blessings,
      Alyson

Leave a Reply

