A Little Limp and a Big Question

My sweet boy is limping. Noah fell on his scooter last week – just a minor fall, but enough to make him whine and insist we examine his feet. He seemed to recover pretty quickly, but he’s had a limp that comes and goes ever since. Nothing we do reproduces the pain, and the limp seems to almost be a gait issue because he doesn’t seem to be in any pain. He just takes a normal step with one foot and a short step with the other. His pediatrician saw him today and mentioned the possibility of Legg-Calve-Perthes disease more than once. He sent us off for x-rays, and Noah cooperated completely, so they got some good films.

Hip problems are more common in kids with Down syndrome, but I always thought Noah’s muscle tone was relatively good, so I assumed he would escape that complication. We’ll see.

What I do know is that our beloved pediatrician saw exactly what I was talking about and is on the case, so I’m taking the night off from worrying. For once in my mommy hood I am not researching everything I can find about the latest symptom or potential diagnosis for my kids. There will be time for that once the x-ray reports come back (in the next day or two.)

But if you can squeeze in one more prayer, would you add sweet Noah to your list? I really love that guy.

Blessings,
Alyson

3 thoughts on “A Little Limp and a Big Question”

Leave a Reply

