Duplo Numbers

20120818-124949.jpg
While we’ve got the Duplos out . . .
Here are some Duplos we turned into counting blocks just by adding stickers.

Noah did a great job sorting these first by number (all the 1s together, all the 2s together, etc). The fact they were also coded by color helped him achieve success the first time. Once he had them in the right stacks, I pointed out the numbers on each Duplos and used the word same (“One, one, one. These are all the same”).

Next, I had him make stacks with the 1, 2 and 3. Again, since he already knows his colors, the fact that these are color-coded provided a great foundation to “build” his new counting skill upon. Incidentally, this activity is a good example of sequence being a pre-math skill. First a child learns to sequence colors, blue, yellow, green; later they sequence numbers, 1, 2, 3.

I love, love, love being able to make teaching materials out of things I already have! I think the materials being familiar to Noah (5-Down syndrome) give him that little extra confidence that helps his willingness in trying a new skill. And, gee, we need all the help we can get.

Blessings,
Alyson

3 thoughts on “Duplo Numbers”

  1. Great idea! It is great how many things you can make out of toys and household things you already have, and great for the budget too. I bought a heap of alphabet blocks from a fundraising toy catalogue. They are not duplo but are compatible. I bought them at least 5 years ago but we get so much use out of them still with the younger kids. Can’t remember the brand name but if I remember, I’ll send it to you. I’ve also come across this page with some other duplo ideas – http://www.parenthacks.com/2010/10/turn-duplo-bricks-into-alphabet-blocks.html which might be handy for you down the track.

    1. Thanks so much, Sarah. I definately will use that link – I’ve been wanting a list of ways to use Duplos in my homeschool – I know there’s got to be a bijillion. And love your blog at http://www.onsarahsipad.wordpress.com – I’ve been so frustrated by the lack of in-depth information about apps I’m interested in, and your reviews are phenominal.

      Blessings,
      Alyson

      1. I know what you mean. I find it really frustrating when I search for reviews, and all I find is the same blurb that is on the iTunes store just copied and pasted. Haven’t found the brand for those letters yet, but I have a feeling you are the type that likes to adapt what you have….well, going by your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

