Pinned It, Did It – Fine Motor Chalkboard Painting

Here’s a little alphabet work we did at the chalkboard last week, courtesy of Pinterest pin http://pinterest.com/pin/234961305529928791/:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can find the original blog post over at www.homeschoolmama3.blogspot.ca – a blog by one creative homeschooling mama.

The process was really very simple, and since Noah loves anything associated with paintbrushes, I knew this would be right up his alley.  I wrote all the lower case letters with chalk on a chalkboard and let Noah trace them with a paintbrush he dipped in water.  I did have to supervise him closely, because he was trying to get away with blotting out the letter with big strokes rather than tracing them.  With a little verbal cueing and hand-0ver-hand assistance, he got back on track and did most of this work independently.  Sitting next to him while he did it also allowed me the opportunity to say each letter as he trace it. 

We’ll definitely be doing this again – next time with numbers or shapes.

You know, I’ m thankful once again for all the moms out there that take the time to blog about the activities they do with their children.  This was such a simple and fun activity for Noah, but there’s no way I would have come up with this on my own.  Isn’t it great in this day and age to not have to reinvent the wheel?  I always say I could easily homeschool my children for free just by using all the things available on the Internet, if I only had the time to find it all.

Blessings,

Alyson 

 

Leave a Reply

