H is for HEARTS

Hard to believe, but last weekend a Goodwill store opened here in our little corner of the woods.  I went by and checked it out and . . . score!!!  I’ve been looking and looking for heart-shaped ice cube trays.  It was just what we needed this week as I scrambled for H word activities.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I bought a “Bucket of Bling” plastic gemstones at Wal-Mart a few weeks ago, and I was delighted to finally get to use them.  I pulled out the hearts and Noah practiced 1 to 1 correspondence.

Notice the heart flashcard?  I find the easiest way to deal with my anxiety about Noah starting homeschool kindergarten is to just jump in and start exposing him to the things I want him to learn.  It’s never too soon to teach our children that letters make words and words represent objects and ideas.  I’m making and using flashcards to go with our alphabet activities.  Right now the object is exposure to the written word.  Eventually he will start distinguishing the letters and words; but because he is on his own time table, I don’t know when that will be.  My aim is to make sure that at the moment he is ready to start with phonemic awareness, the words are already and have already been in front of him. 

 Sure, our home is going to look like a page right out of a Richard Scarry book for a while, but it’s for a good cause, right?  🙂

Leave a Reply

