Why is it . . .

Trust me, Folks.  You don’t want the visuals that would go with this post.

My 5-year-old has Down syndrome.  I am adjusting to the cognitive delays that come with Downs that are resulting in delayed potty training.   No big deal, right?

So how is it that the boy has the ability to poop in his underware in secret,  communicate to his sister what he has done, slide into the bathroom while she finds mom to report the latest, remove his own underware (making a disgusting mess in the process), hold his underware in one hand in the toilet while he flushes with the other (to rinse them out the way he’s seen me do it) . . .

. . . but he can’t figure out how to poop in the potty?

Ask me about my day . . . I dare you.

Seriously, I can’t believe it, but in the midst of the disaster, I actually caught myself feeling kind of proud of my boy for taking care of himself.  Have I lost my mind or what?

 

4 thoughts on “Why is it . . .”

  1. Ah, the joys of raising a special needs child…lol! Been there, done that.

    My son was in pull-ups until age 11 because of the same issue. He’d go in his pants, then tell someone. I couldn’t understand why, if he knew the process well enough to communicate it to others, he wouldn’t just use the toilet in the first place! Finally, at some point, he figured out it was easier to sit on the pot. We had a few setbacks, but eventually he got it.

    He still has to be supervised in the bathroom, though. For some reason he likes to smear stuff on the wall, or occasionally pee on the floor. Again – not sure what is going on in that head of his. Only that an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure (or in this case, poop!).

    Isn’t it hilarious that our children’s bathroom habits can spark a conversation between people who hardly know each other?!?

    “Ask me about my day…I dare you…” – holy cow, you remind me of ME. When I interview respite workers, I tell them they need to be solid and not shocked by anything. If they’re squeamish at all, they can’t work for me. You gotta be tough to take on the challenge of a special needs child.

    God bless you, sweetie 🙂

    1. Nice to see ya. I was thinking of you while I was writing that post – I thought, I bet she’s totally been here and done this :). I’ve heard about the potty tricks of kids with special needs, yesterday seemed like it was a classic case. Although Noah is not at the purposefully smearing stage, I’ve heard that is very common, so I’m trying to prepare via prevention. But isn’t it amazing how sneaky and fast our special ones can be when they want to, of course “when they want to” is the key.

      Thanks so much for your commorodary. (O.k. I’m totally lost without a spell checker.) Swaping stories really lifts my head, if you know what I mean. It’s like God just reaches out through these E-relationships, they are the finger that lifts my chin and raises my face to the sun.

      Blessings,
      Alyson

      1. My boys are perfectly potty trained IF they have no pants on… Truly without accident EVER. And, they are 90%+ accident-free at school… obviously wearing undies often with an ultra-thin overnight pad to absorb at least some of any potential accident to ensure they’re not peeing into their shoes and wrecking them. But at home, it seems they’re 90% accident prone. That is, at home, the minute you put anything on the bottom half, they’re peeing in it. That’s b/c there’s no peer role model and no natural transitions every 30 minutes like they have at school. #2 is tougher but one of them’s got it and the other is fighting it. At 7, it’s coming together…. finally!

      2. Glad to hear there may be light at the end of the tunnel. Noah was stuck at the “I’ll pee if you put me on the potty” stage for 3 years without any progress. Finally he’s able to stay dry most of the day (about 90% of the time) IF I’m willing to chance it and put him in underware. If I put him in a Pull-Up, he knows it and sees no purpose in using the toilet. Hopefully we won’t be stuck at this stage for 3 years, but it is what it is, isn’t it?

        Thanks for jumping in the conversation!!! Can’t wait to check out your blog.

        Blessings,
        Alyson

Leave a Reply

