E is for Elbow Stamping

Now, how’s THAT for an action shot?  Just look at the concentration on that guy’s face!  (Or maybe it’s a look of “Enough pictures already, MOM!)

I think I saw this idea first on Pinterest and later on a website.  Of course now that I want to cite it, I can’t find it anywhere.  If you’ve posted this activity, leave me a comment and I’ll make sure to add a link.  Honestly I was surprised I hadn’t seen it before, so classically simple yet a very effective way to practice Es.

Activity:  Elbow Stamping

Supplies: 

  1. One elbow 🙂
  2. Paper
  3. Stamp pad or paint

Directions:  This is a great time to review basic body parts with your child.  Sing Head, Shoulder’s, Knees and Toes.  Then go back and touch and name face, arms, elbows, hands, stomach, legs, feet, etc.  Now refocus your child’s attention on his elbow.  I find it effective to point to my elbow and say, “Elbow.  This is Mommy’s Elbow.  Where is Noah’s elbow?” 

Now it’s time for the real fun.  Allow your child to press his elbow into the stamp pad and then onto the paper.  This really got Noah’s attention because it was such an unusual move to use his elbow to do art.  Looking back, I see this would have been even better if we would have stamped on a letter E printout.  Well, there’s always next year.  (I figure we’ll be doing at least one more round of alphabet activities in the future.)

 By the way, my 3-year-old and 8-year-old joined in on this activity.  What I’m finding is that most of my kids LOVE to do preschool activities no matter how old they are. 

Extension Activity:  For an activity like this, it would be easy to make it more challenging for the older kids by asking them to make a picture out of their elbow prints (for instance, a flower, one elbow for the middle, and then elbows in a circle around the middle.  They could also use a pen and turn their elbow print into a creature or figure by adding details.

Leave a Reply

