Not Quite Ready for Prehandwriting? How about Pre-Pre Handwriting

Here’s a great Occupational Therapy activity for those of you with children who are not quite ready for the pre-handwriting worksheets.  (Those are the ones where your child traces a dotted straight line that connects one object to another on the opposite side of the page, then a wavy line, then a zig-zag line.

Sometimes, we just need to go a little bigger.

I used our heavy duty brown mailing paper for this, and it was perfect.  It is a thick, heavy-duty paper which really came in handy as the kids enjoyed walking the lines as much as they enjoyed driving them.  This activity turned out to interest Seth (2), Bella (3) and Noah (5 – Down syndrome).  I have no doubt the Middles would have liked this too if they were here, and I think it would be especially good for Andres, who seems to have some OT issues, although I can’t quite put my finger on where his deficit is.  Because it came off a tight roll, as soon as I lifted it from the floor, it curled back up into a tube shape — perfect for storing.

I keep a small stash of cars for activities like this, since all the play cars seem to disappear just when I need them the most.

This was a good opportunity for us to work on position words, so I added in “top, bottom and middle” at the beginning of each line.  Other ideas for vocabulary labeling are:

left, right,

start, stop

beginning, end

straight, curvy, zig-zag

Did I miss any?

(The original inspiration for this came from Pinterest, but now I can’t find the pin.  If it was yours, let me know and I’ll be happy to link it.)

Leave a Reply

