Kid Friendly Non-Toxic Green Cleaning with Vinegar

This post started out being about another alphabet activity for the letter C, CLEANING.  But I really have more to share about what’s in the bottle than how clean Noah got my cabinets, and how important it is to teach living skills to our little ones.  So I think I’ll address living skills in another post and focus here on my favorite all around cleanser.

My Littles are always asking me if they can clean, meaning they want to use the spray and rags.  This is one of the reasons I use a homemade cleaning spray, 1 part vinegar to 1 part water plus a variety of essential oils.  I have found it to be a very effective cleaner, and it’s completely harmless unless taken in large quantities.  Will it sting if it gets in their eyes?  Yes, but if they’re going to get a spray in their eyes, they are much better off with something mild and nontoxic like vinegar versus Lysol or 409.  When I need something more than the vinegar and water, I throw down a small amount of baking soda on the surface needing attention, give it a little spritz, fizz, fizz, fizz, wipe, wipe, wipe, and I’ve got a sparkling clean countertop, stove, or whatever else it is that needs to be de-nastified.

Here’s what the experts have to say about using vinegar as a household cleaner:
  • An all-in-one cleaner,’ so there is no need to buy an arsenal of cleaners for different purposes.
  • Non-toxic, so there is no fear of breathing harmful chemicals while cleaning. (But do not even THINK about mixing it with other chemicals like bleach because of the toxic results of mixing.) 
  • Gentle on hands, so there is no need to wear rubber gloves.
  • Cleans streak free, so there is no need to rinse after cleaning.
  • Safe around young children, so there is no fear of a child being poisoned.
  • Environmentally friendly, so there are no harmful chemicals going down the drain.
  • Economical, much less expensive than other cleaners.
Can’t stand the smell of vinegar?  Neither can I, so I add in about 20-30 drops of essential oils like lemon, lavender, peppermint (YUM), rosemary, orange or lime.  I love the smell of clean, and I love the smell of earthy clean even more!
Got any other green cleaning tips to share?  I’d love to have a few new ones under my belt.
Leave a Reply

