Speaking of . . .

Pinterest, I found this idea here:  http://pinterest.com/pin/234961305529405805/.

I added a few details like googly eyes and a bib.  Bella (3) and Noah (5 DS) enjoyed this, and I grabbed this opportunity to drill bib, button, bow, and bear with him.

I’m focusing now on drilling words with him as we come across them in our day rather than just using flash cards and PECs.  Since he is behind in receptive and expressive language, it is so important to broaden his real life vocabulary and give him a context for the words he is learning.  Both speech therapists he is working with have been so diligent in reminding me of that, and as he is starting to imitate words more and more spontaneously, I’m seeing the fruit of that approach.

Oh, such joy to hear Noah starting to use language.  He’s busy cleaning the mirror as I type this, and he is humming.  I don’t think I’ve ever heard him hum for more than a few seconds at a time before.

WAIT A MINUTE . . .  I see why he’s humming.  He’s going back and forth to the futon and emptying a baby wipe box to clean the mirror with – one wipe at a time.

Gotta run.

Leave a Reply

