Family Night at the Track

Rule 1:  Just because you CAN do something, doesn’t necessarily mean that you SHOULD do it.

Take, for example, last night at the track.  I discovered that after about 25 years of abstinance, I can still do a headstand.  Cartwheel, no, headstand yes.

Mental note to self this morning as I was rolling out of bed:  (Refer back to rule 1.)

Rule 2:  When you find something that makes all your children (and spouse) laugh at the same time (including the 17-year-old), do it AGAIN.

4 thoughts on “Family Night at the Track”

  1. I remember you standing on your head in the Misty Meadow house, in the family room, with a wall in back of you for support.

    I think your children will remember your headstand forever! It was unexpected, out of character.

    When my family lived in Whitestone, our street ended with a stretch of undeveloped land. (That changed when in the early ’50s the land turned into several “salt box” homes, one of which my James’s family moved into.

    I digress…back to the beginning. The land had a low spot in it. There was often water in it. In the winter it formed a crude ice skating pond (crude because sticks and stuff stuck up through the ice.

    One fine winter day some kids were skating on the pond. My mom opened the front closet door, took a box down from the shelf. Behold, a pair of black ice skates. Off she went to the pond. Next thing I knew she was gliding over the ices, hands behind her back, with a self-satisfied smile on her face.

    Unexpected, out of character…I’ll remember it as long as I live.

    1. Thanks for the story – Precious, precious. I hope my kids remember the headstand. It’s the kind of mom I want to be. So nice to get out of my shell every now and then. I think they would agree, it was TOTALLY unexpected!!!!

      Love you – come see us soon.
      Alyson

  2. These are the family moments we need to treasure!

    It is good to do things like that – feel free to do “out of shell things”, being silly, making others laugh.

    Thanks for sharing this story, Alyson!

    1. Yes, I don’t think I’ll ever wish I made more bread or wrote more posts. I hope my children (and I) remember the laughter. 🙂 We certainly need more of it!

Leave a Reply

