Eyes to See

Luke 10:23 : Turning to the disciples, He said privately, “Blessed are the eyes which see the things you see, 24 for I say to you, that many prophets and kings wished to see the things which you see, and did not see them, and to hear the things which you hear, and did not hear them.”

http://www.flickr.com/photos/spyderella/7929998/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/spyderella/7929998/

 Spring blanketing the Texas Hill Country has got me thinking.  And what I’m thinking is bouncing around in my mind like a bird that’s flown in through an open window.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/41597157@N00/4602735937/

“Weed:   The general name of any plant that is useless or noxious.  The word therefore has no definite application to any particular plant or species of plants; but whatever plants grow among corn, grass, or in hedges, and which are either of no use to man or injurious to crops, are denominated weeds.”  – American Dictionary of the English Language, Noah Webster 1828

http://www.flickr.com/photos/hughdbyrne/6061154038/

I’ve heard it said that wildflowers are technically weeds.  They weren’t planted by man, and they can creep up in the most unexpected and sometimes inconvenient places.  We like order, we like to be able to control our world, our landscapes, our lives.  But I fear if we overmanage and weed out the surprising things that pop up in our world, our landscapes, our lives, we will miss out on a life far more exquisite than a neat and tidy horizon.

No weeds here!

3 thoughts on “Eyes to See”

  1. Touched my heart…Ma

    “Eye of the beholder…” Who could look at a Texas Bluebonnet and dismiss it as a weed? I still think we should be able to pick them!

  2. How do I join your blog… I’m a mom of a 3 1/2 year old with down syndrome…and am homeschooling. 🙂

    1. Hi Genie. I’ll email you. Too funny – I just clicked follow on your Pinterest board. Glad you found me, cuz I was trying to figure out how to find you.

      Blessings,
      Alyson

Leave a Reply

