Pinterest – Taking Social Networking to a Whole New (Visual) Level

There I was, just innocently visiting http://itsawunderfullife.wordpress.com/, a great dad blog about twins with autism, and this little link button jumped out at me, something called Pinterest.  Oh, I should have been wary.  But little ole me just couldn’t help but click it.  And that’s all she wrote.

I’m hooked.

I’m sure I’m behind most of you, but if there is anyone out there who has not been on  www.pinterest.com, you’ve got to see it.

What is Pinterest?

According to their website,

“Pinterest is a Virtual Pinboard.

Pinterest lets you organize and share all the beautiful things you find on the web. People use pinboards to plan their weddings, decorate their homes, and organize their favorite recipes.

Best of all, you can browse pinboards created by other people. Browsing pinboards is a fun way to discover new things and get inspiration from people who share your interests.”

Yes, it is yet another social networking site, but the developers have captured the power of visual media by making all the links visual.  For bloggers, this could be a powerful networking tool and another way to get your work out there into the hands of the general public.  Think of it as a visual search engine created by its users.  You have to have photos or images in order to have a post that can be pinned.  The beautiful thing is that your post can be pinned by someone else visiting your site without you doing anything.  Or you can join Pinterest yourself and create boards that include some of your work (posts, printables, etc.) and some of others’ work.

It’s so easy to use, and man, oh man, is it fun!  Once you set up an account (easy), you search the net as always, and when you happen upon a worthy site, you click the Pinterest you have installed in your favorites or in your browser, you choose which of your boards you want to add it to, you add a description and tags, and then you’re through.

There are also Pinterest buttons you can add to your own blog to make it easy for someone else to pin one of your entries.  It is quite likely that some of your blogs have already been pinned.  If you check your blog stats and you see Pinterest show up as a referrer, congrats – you’ve been pinned, and somone on Pinterest has clicked on the pin to get to your site.

I’m a brand new Pinterest user, so there’s probably a lot I don’t know about it, but I’ve learned enough to know I’m going to have to try to stay off of it.  It could take years off of my life (in time spent browsing it) for sure.

8 thoughts on “Pinterest – Taking Social Networking to a Whole New (Visual) Level”

  1. I have some Facebook friends who use Pinterest. When they pin something, it shows up on their FB wall. Never knew what it was until you wrote this post. Sounds intriguing – may have to check it out sometime. My problem is, I don’t like the networking aspect. I know that’s vital for someone expressing their views, but I’m a really private person (which is why I blog under a secret identity). My FB is locked down so tight it practically squeaks when I use it, lol! But being a strong visual person, the Pinterest thing might be worth looking into. Thanks for the info!

    1. It does seem a little creepy that someone can pin any of the pictures you’ve posted without your consent or even your knowledge. The reason there’s no pictures of any of my other wacky wonders or my husband and me on this blog is because he is very concerned about the privacy issue and safety issues wrapped up in that. I got a waiver for Noah since we hope to spread the word about the sanctity of life and the wonderfulness of children with Down syndrome, and photographs are such a powerful medium. I did see there was a FAQ on Pinterest about what if you don’t want to be pinned, but I didn’t read the answer. I should check it out – maybe I could keep Noah from being pinned and still allow the activity photos to be pinned.

      Oh, and I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who had no idea what Pinterest was. 🙂

  2. Hah hah hah! First, thanks for the very nice comments! Second, I am going to apologize in advance for introducing you to pInterest because if you aren’t careful, it will take over your life! I have a friend who, no joke, pins over 100 items in a couple of hours. . . . EACH AND EVERYDAY! May you find as much enjoyment in pInterest as she does. I’ll admit, I spend a lot of time on there as well. Just be careful – some of the recipes look great but. . . . . yeah. . . .don’t taste nearly as good.

    Have fun with it and thanks again! I was laughing when I saw your email.

  3. I loooooove Pinterest! As for the previous poster, your “Pins” do not automatically go on facebook. There is a link you click on to make them show up on Facebook if you want it to. I have found so many wonderful and helpful tools on there for sensory play, and fun speech therapy type exercises. I have over 14 pinboards for everything under the sun. I also have found tons and tons of amazing recipes on there. Yes, I am an addict. Admitting is the first step, right? Haha!

    1. Oh, definately. I’ve heard you have to be careful about the recipes on there, but I would imagine that’s true of any place people can post recipes. It is great having another resource under my belt for ideas for my kiddos!

      Blessings,
      Alyson

  4. No, no, no! 😆

    I’m not looking for another social networking… But you have written a great review. A review with a warning. So, nope I won’t go there to take a look 😉

    Blessings

    1. I’m still trying to figure out whether I’m glad I stumbled onto it or not. I’ve been so proud of myself for how I have adjusted to life without cable these past 10 years and how little time I spend in front of the TV. I’m starting to make up for it in front of the computer. Well, I guess – I mean I know – there are worse addictions to have. 🙂

      Blessings,
      Alyson

Leave a Reply

