The Best Job in the World – Update Day 1

I brought Andrew to the airport bright and early (actually it was still dark) this morning.  I had already started tidying things up last night, so I feel like I’m off to a good start.  Last night I converted about 6 inches of internet printables to scratch paper.  I finally realized all those great finds were really just taking up space on top of the Lego drawers and if we hadn’t gotten to them yet, we probably weren’t going to.  I did salvage a few pages of Valentine’s Day themed homeschool activities.

Today I filled and took to the car a 13-gallon bag of things for the thrift store.  Around here if the bag doesn’t make it to the car, it doesn’t count because it takes exactly 60 seconds for the children to undo all the work I’ve done to get everything into the bag if they get ahold of it.  It’s amazing how something they haven’t even looked at in three months suddenly becomes their most treasured possession once it’s been bagged for the thrift store.  I also bagged 13 gallons of  stuff destined for the dumpster (is that even possible???).  This was mostly moth-eaten, stained or ripped clothing and damaged books.   One big bag of children’s hangers is headed to the thrift store.  It’s a bit discouraging because I feel like I’ve combed through so much and gotten a lot out of the house, but things are not looking any different.  I think I’m trying to get away with only scratching the surface.

On a brighter note, things are going great with the children!!!!  I read two books to Andres yesterday while he rested.  Later Eden and I played two rounds of an alphabet fishing game.  She is definitely the child who is a bit starved for attention.  She is only 13 months younger than Andres, so she has always had to share the limelight.

The past couple days, I’ve found I am able to catch myself when I start to lose my patience or raise my voice, and I remember I am on duty for the World’s Greatest Boss and He expects me to do the very best with what He has given me to work with.  And He has given me a lot.  Trinity always steps up to the plate when I need her to, so she made dinner tonight and is being delightful company.  I’m trying to be quieter and not holler through the house when I’m looking for someone.  There is something so harsh about being yelled for, whether the yeller is patient or not.

Psalm 51:10-13:  10 Create in me a clean heart, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me. 11 Do not cast me away from Your presence And do not take Your Holy Spirit from me. 12 Restore to me the joy of Your salvation And sustain me with a willing spirit. 13 Then I will teach transgressors Your ways, And sinners will be converted to You.

Thank you, Lord, for equipping me for the job you have for me to do.  Nothing is impossible with You.

One thought on “The Best Job in the World – Update Day 1”

  1. Hi Alyson,

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment on my blog! I love the transparency I’ve found on your blog and what you are doing. I’ve subscribed to your blog and look forward to getting to know you better!

Leave a Reply

