The Best Job in the World?

Colossions 2:23 – Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men.

I have often said that I have the best job in the world, homemaking, homeschooling, being mommy to a whole bunch of little ones.  It’s what I’ve always wanted to do.  But I was thinking the other day, do I really work like I have the best job in the world?

I don’t.

If I was getting up and going to a job I just kind of liked or even didn’t like but I needed, I would still care very much that I was making a good impression and would make an attempt to meet my job goals each day.  I would certainly care if I goofed up, and I would certainly be pleasant and cordial every minute I was on the clock.  If I was struggling with my attitude, I’d make sure no one could tell, and I’d put everything I had into pushing through whatever was weighing me down.

Do I do this at home?

I don’t.

Sometime in the last couple years, I went on survival mode.  I wasn’t sleeping at night and was overwhelmed with trying to do all the right things at all the right times, always protecting and training my children, being holy, cheerful and gracious, staying on top of the housework and socializing as a family.  So I switched gears and put everything I had into getting through the day and quit trying to do the rest.  I do the bare minimum as far as housework and I don’t hesitate to let everyone know when they are not doing what I think they ought to be doing.   I cut my children off when their ponderings go on too long; I can be heard telling them more often than is necessary, “This is not a good time to chat, let’s talk later.”  (Later never comes.)  I can be found in the home office stealing moments at the computer when I should be doing “the best job in the world.”  If I were an employee, they would have fired me by now.  The worst part is, I know better!  I love my children, I enjoy being around them.  I’ve read the books, I’ve gone to the seminars – I know how to “train a child in the way he should go.”  Knowing and doing is not the same thing, is it?  Sigh.

The Plan

My husband is going out of town this week.  While he is gone, I’m going to start the shift, and hopefully by the time he gets back things will be looking a little better around the house and in my family relationships.  I want to get back to doing some of those things I consider part of “the best job in the world”:   Reading books, making cupcakes, playing games, doing projects, having tea parties, sitting on the edge of the bed and chatting as my girls fall asleep.   And I need to get rid of stuff, lots of stuff.   If I can just purge one area a day, things will be a lot different come next Saturday.  I’m still debating posting before and after photos.  I’m thinking it might be better to destroy the evidence rather than post it.

How about you?  What’s an area in your life that knowing and doing are not lining up?  Are you ready to do something about it?

Leave a Reply

