I’ve heard it said . . .

I’ve heard it said, “God gives ‘special’ children to special parents.”  I used to agree because all the parents of children with special needs I saw seemed so faithful, so at peace, so naturally and totally willing to give of themselves without hesitation.

Now that I am one of those “special” parents, I realize God didn’t give me a child with special needs because I was so special, so faithful, so at peace or so naturally and totally willing to give of myself.  I, along with those “special” parents who are raising children with special needs are becoming that kind of special in the process of raising these children.  Our children are not the reward of mastering those virtues, but it is in raising these children that we get to practice and hopefully learn those virtues.

For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus.”

Thank you, Lord, for all of your good gifts and for all of your good works.

Blessings,

Alyson

3 thoughts on “I’ve heard it said . . .”

  1. You are right on! As the parent of a 16-year-old son with more than one disability, I would say that I’ve done more changing than he has over the years. When he was born, people would tell me he was a “special” gift from God just for me. But that didn’t comfort me – I thought, why would God intentionally strip a child of intelligence and the potential for a normal life just to teach me to be more patient and faithful? He could have found any number of ways to teach me those things. Plus, I was woefully inadequate and ill-equipped for the job!

    I’ve come to the conclusion that bad things happen because we live in a fallen world, and if we lean on God, He will use those circumstances to bring about good things. I’m definitely a better person because of my son, whose disabilities motivate me to rely on and trust in Him on a daily basis.

    Have a good weekend and God bless,
    M.

    1. Girl, you’re speaking my language!!! I remember my introductory email to my local Down syndrome support network. “I am not equipped for this.” That’s what I said. Someone emailed me back and said, “Oh, yes you are.” I think the point is that I may not have been equipped, but God sure was, the same God who knit my beautiful boy together in my womb.

      Potential – how differently I look at that word now. I have grown to realize that all my children have limited potenial. Noah’s is just more obvious than the others. If God has not given my children the ability to become doctors, they will not become doctors. If God has not given my children the ability to become parents, they will not become parents (unless they adopt). If my children are not driven to succeed or are driven by addictions, their potential will be limited as well.

      Heartbreaking for any mama, but true.

      Love to you,
      Alyson

Leave a Reply

