He Said WHAT?????

Until I catch you all up on where Noah is in his communication skills, I can’t really post Noah News because it won’t make sense chronologically, but I’ve got a little secret I’ve just got to share!!!!

One of Noah’s current speech goals is to combine his signs to make two-word phrases.  He’s doing well on that, and guess what!!!!!  Last week he said, yes he SAID, his very first two-word phrase.  Hmmm.  What did he say, what did he say?  I’ll give you a hint.  What have we been talking about a lot lately?  Uh-huh, potty training.  No, he didn’t up and tell me he had to go potty, not quite there yet.  But he did say “BYE BYE PEE PEE.”  (We’ve been working a lot on Bs and Ps.).  At the end of the Bathroom Routine board (see post here:  https://wordsofhisheart.wordpress.com/2012/01/13/potty-time-bathroom-routine-chart-printables-pdfs/), I’ve been ad libbing “bye-bye pee pee.”  He thought it was funny.  He and I worked on saying it together, and then one day, on his own, he let it fly. Now, this might be no big deal to a mom of your ordinary child, but for me, I waited 4-1/2 years to hear Noah’s first word (Mama), and 5 years to hear his first two-word phrase.   Oh, I’m so proud of My Mr. Wonderful.  And I’ve got to tell you, there is something to this idea that scripted routines promote communication and speech.  Yay Noah!!!!

2 thoughts on “He Said WHAT?????”

  1. I didn’t tell you how much I love the photos of Noah crawling into the little house. So cute.

    I’m trying to picture what it will be like for you someday when you’re down to two, then one, then none to change diapers for. I’m sure you and Andrew are thinking about how great that will be for your finances.

    Ma xxoo

Leave a Reply

