Chicka Chicka Boom Boom – Free Printables

A printable that spans the interest of my 2-year-old, my 4-year-old and my 6-year-old with Down syndrome?

Uh-huh!

Can you say JACKPOT?

DSC08584

This is a printable palm tree with all the letters of the alphabet in round circles (coconuts).

For the 2-year-old, I called out a letter and pointed to it and he dotted it with a bingo dauber.  As I pointed to it, I would say whether it was at the top of the page, the middle, the left or the right.  The point was just to give him exposure to the use of those words.

For the 4-year-old, I called out a letter and told her approximately where it was on the page, “near the top, near the bottom, in the middle, to the left, to the right, on the trunk.”  Since she already knows all her letters, she could find them on her own, and the use of the prepositions and directions gave her some good practice at these often overlooked words.  She would find the letter and dot it with the bingo dauber.

Noah – 6 with Down syndrome used this as a matching activity.  Before we started, I printed all the letters of the alphabet on some round pricing stickers I had.  I pointed to a letter on the printout, named it and pointed to the area on his sticker sheet where the matching letter was located.  He took off the sticker (yay fine motor skills!) and placed it on the matching letter on the printout.

When he was all finished, he took a bingo dauber and dotted all the stickers.  I don’t know what it is about those bingo daubers, buy my kids LOVE them!

Here’s the link to the free printable alphabet palm trees:

http://www.makinglearningfun.com/themepages/CCBBLetterAssessments.htm.

3 thoughts on “Chicka Chicka Boom Boom – Free Printables”

Leave a Reply

