A Trick to Get Those Shoes on the Right Feet

I saw this little beauty of an idea on Pinterest, and all I can say is it just makes sense.  For all you pinners, you can find the pin here:  http://pinterest.com/pin/234961305530256854/.  The blog post it was pinned from is here:  http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2008/04/putting-shoes-on-right-feet.html Basically, the idea is to take a sticker, cut it in two, and place the pieces on your child’s shoes so that when the left and right are in the appropriate positions, the sticker lines up to make a picture.  Then your child can just slide their feet into the correctly placed shoes. 

Talk about visual cueing!!!

You know, the ability to get shoes on the right feet is a skill we kind of take for granted.  Sure, some kids struggle with it a little longer than others and need more help to learn it, but we all assume they’ll figure it out eventually, and they do. 

For parents and caregivers of people with special needs, this can actually be a momentous milestone because it is one more addition to the list of things our child can do for himself, an activity of daily living he can do independently.  Woo hoo!!!!!   I mean, let’s face it; being able tp put shoes on the right feet is an important life skill.    And if your child can do it himself, it means that’s one less thing on your already overwhelming to-do list just to get out the door in the morning. 

Bella (just turned 4) got this after a few rounds of setting her shoes on the table and asking her to put them so that the dog’s head and tail lined up correctly (sorry, it’s a prism sticker – not the best to photograph.).  Since then it’s been easy peasy to get her to get her shoes on the right feet – all by herself. 

Now, if we could just get her to put her shoes in the right place every night so she could find them when she needed to put them on . . . but that’s another post.  :)  Now that I think about it, I think someone else will have to write that post.  Most days I can’t even find my own shoes.

I’m game to try this with Noah (5 – Down syndrome), but for now the fact that the stickers are on shoes is throwing him off.  No worries.  It’s given me a good idea for another activity for him.  Coming soon . . .

By the way, don’t forget to leave a comment for me on yesterday’s post, http://wordsofhisheart.wordpress.com/2012/09/10/chore-cards-by-appdads-a-review-and-giveaway/, to register for our free Chore-Card app giveaway – drawing to be held on Monday, September 17, 2012.  Three lucky winners will receive a redemption code for this oh-so-helpful chore system that features scannable cards for your kids.

Blessings,

Alyson

4 thoughts on “A Trick to Get Those Shoes on the Right Feet”

  1. I am currently trying to get a student to put her shoes on the correct feet, we had just put wiggles down the inside of the shoe so that she could match the two wiggles to be next to each other on the inside but its not really working. i will give this a try

    1. Leanne – I hope this is a success. I find different things work with different kids. Sometimes it is just a matter of going through the list of ideas until one sticks. If this doesn’t work, try putting a different color sock on each foot and slipping discs of coordinating color in each shoe. Good luck! These life skills are definately worth the effort!

      Blessings,
      Alyson

  2. My daughter (7-bipolar) has a hard time with this, and always has. I think this might work for her. It just amazes me that anyone can’t figure this out. I mean, have you ever put on your shoes backwards? It feels awful! And my daughter who is very tactile sensitive, I would think would be the first person to figure it out. lol

    Another trick I’ve heard is to make a smiley face on the inside edge of the shoes so that when they are put together the eyes are on one side and the mouth on the other. Only works if you have a shoe with a thick enough sole, though. The sticker idea sounds much better because she won’t feel it, and I won’t see something on the outside edge of her shoes that will drive OCD me insane! lol

    Thanks for the tip!
    Loran : )

    P.S. I came to your site to find sign language info (from Google search) and I have been finding all kinds of treasures. One of my best friends was diagnosed with Chiari I about 18 months ago. She had the surgery, but it didn’t help. She gets sick to her stomach (throws up) at the slightest thing, like bending over, moving around too quickly (trying to get ready in the a.m.) and quite a lot more. I feel for her as I have a chronic illness, too. Life can suck when you have symptoms to deal with everyday, as I’m sure you know all too well. I wish more people could be sympathetic and empathetic! It’s hard when people don’t believe you that you’re fatigued or hurting. I pray that God’s will be done in your family’s lives. <{ } (That's my best attempt at visual praying hands, with no thumb—lol)

    1. Thanks, Loran. I totally get the OCD issue with things on the outside of shoes that don’t belong there. Noah had a temporary tattoo on his arm for days – I was soooo happy once it “accidentally” got scrubbed off.

Leave a Reply

