So, What Curriculum Do You Use

This is the question ALL the homeschooling moms are asking each other this time of year.  So here’s our answer in a nutshell.  This is just a list of what we’ll be using.  If you’re interested in the details of the curriculum or a review of it, let me know and I’ll be glad to post it.

Math – All the middles are using Math-U-See this year just like they did last year.  A great hands-on manipulative-based math program.  It will change the way you think of math.

Grammar – All the middles are using Easy Grammar this year.  It’s a very nuts and bolts kind of program, but I love it because it is very direct and does not take a lot of time trying to make grammar more attractive.  Do it and your done – that’s all there is to it.

History – We are still trying to finish up Story of the World – Ancient Times by Susan Wise Bauer.  At this point, I’ve given up doing the activities and will be happy if we can just read it cover to cover.

Science – I’m taking an unstructured approach this year with mostly experiments and lapbooks.  We got a great human body lapbook that I’m going to start with the kids just as soon as we finish our history book.  I don’t worry too much about science in elementary school – just make sure the kids have lots of nonfiction books to read and lots of Magic School Bus books and videos. 

Noah (5 – Down syndrome), Bella (4) and Seth (2) will continue on with a little of this and a little of that, heavily influenced by what I can find on Pinterest.  I must say, this is the most fun I’ve ever had teaching preschool.  We’re also using Alphie, Hot Dots, Bob Books and some of the typical preschool workbooks.  I especially like the Rod & Staff preschool workbook series.  I’ve laminated a lot of the pages and the kids are happy to redo the worksheets over and over again.  File Folder games are also going to be utilized heavily.  All the kids love these, but I find them to be especially useful with the younger elementary kids.  Now that I have a color laser printer, I can print out some of the file folder games I’ve bought on CD-roms without worrying about all the ink I’m using. 

How about you?  What curriculum are you using this year with your kids – special needs or not?  What’s your favorite, what’s your latest new thing that you’re hopeful about?

2 thoughts on “So, What Curriculum Do You Use”

  1. Hi, Alyson – we homeschooled for 3 years (until my introvert self couldn’t take the lack of free time anymore). We used Sonlight one year and Switched on Schoolhouse (SOS) for two years. It really was a stressful time for me, but when I look back, my best memories are from those years. Funny how that works :-)

    God bless you for the good work you’re doing with your kids!

    1. That is funny how that works!!! It’s been so long since I’ve had free time, I’ve forgotten what it feels like, but I pay for it with my stress level!!! (And no, my blogging and Pinterest time is not free time – it’s stolen time from what I’m supposed to be doing :(). I’m a total introvert as well, so constantly being with people, no matter how small, is not in my nature, either. I have to constantly remind myself of the benefits of homeschooling to keep the balance to where I can keep them home.

      Off to start quiet time – absolutely mandatory isolation for everyone in the house – including me!!!!

      Hugs,
      Alyson

Leave a Reply

