D is for Dots – Modified Glue, Scatter and Shake Activity

Yay!  Finally an activity using some of that nifty stuff I bought on clearance after Easter.  I got the confetti used to stuff cascarones for 10 cents a bag, just knowing I’d think of SOMETHING to use it for.  Noah (5 with Down syndrome) loved this.  Bella (3) did a great job on one of these as well  It’s so fun having my own little family preschool.

First I ran off a copy of this free letter D template:

letter-d-template

Are those not the cutest little fingers you ever saw?

Are those not the cutest little fingers you ever saw?

Noah has a hard time squeezing the glue bottle and tracing a shape at the same time, so I poured some glue into the bottom of a paper bowl and he used a paintbrush to spread it around the shape.  I was amazed at how far he’s come in being able to stay within the lines of a bubble letter like this.  I’m convinced it’s because of all the Painters tape, Pergo and a Plan letters he has walked.  Motor planning at its finest!  If you notice in the picture, he’s got the glue pretty much confined to the inside of the letters.  This is quite remarkable for him.

Here I’ve dumped the confetti into a bowl and given Noah a spoon to scoop it and dump it on top of the areas he has glued.  He proved quite competent in this area as well.  I briefly showed him what I wanted him to do, and he took the spoon and did the entire sheet independently.  And, oh how he loved scooping and dumping!!!

I know this doesn’t look like much, but just wait!!!!  He covered the letters with dots, we let it set for a few minutes, shook off the extra dots, and presto . . .

 Isn’t he amazing?

One thought on “D is for Dots – Modified Glue, Scatter and Shake Activity”

Leave a Reply

