Stop!

Stop!  Hold everything.

I’ve been brainstorming about bus printables and activities that would work with most books about school busses rather than just one, so yesterday Noah and I read Hello, School Bus by Marjorie Blain Parker.  One thing that  books about school busses have a lot of is pictures of stop signs.  So, seeing how STOP is Noah’s favorite sign, I pointed out the stop signs on numerous pages and signed stop.  Today I read the book again to him, and when we got to the picture of the stop sign, I pointed to it and Noah signed stop without any additional cueing.  The same thing on the following pages.  And the enthusiasm behind his signs I cannot even begin to describe.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE seeing him excited about language!

I never know what’s going to be hard to teach Noah and what’s going to be easy.  It never works out like I expect it too, but I am sooooooo encouraged when I can teach him something new one day and he demonstrates mastery the next.

www.lifeprint.com ASL for “stop” – the motion is like a chop. 

2 thoughts on “Stop!”

    1. Loook for “School Bus” by Donald Crews, too. I’ll have a seek and find activity for that this week (hopefully) as well. That’s funny that’s one of Adeline’s favorite words too. And I’ll bet she says it with gusto!

      Blessings,
      Alyson

Leave a Reply

